I will Win this Battle

bipolaronfire said it best… “Quitting Smoking Is Hell”… I agree so much with that. I was also told to use everything in my arsenal.. and I plan to do just that.

I am not one to not achieve a goal and so this one has to be ready for a fight.

After discussing all the reasons why I need to quit smoking, with my paid bestie, we came up with some possible tools of assisting. She knows I am not a fan of pills and that I would like to keep things as natural as possible. She suggested I head straight over to Vitamin Shoppe(or World) and pick up a couple of things her husband uses to help with the cravings.

wp-1455851577893.jpegI grabbed some detox tea and tried it last night. I wanted to be able to wake up in the morning and be clean and clear. I don’t know why I had such a fantasy outlook on a box of tea, but I was very hopeful. This tea tastes good. I didn’t even add any sweeteners at all. It is very peppery though, just in case that is not your thing. Another issue… It kept me up alllllllll Night long. I found myself watching “The bucket list” The boy in the Striped pajamas” and “the girl in the book” on Netflix and still had to put something mindless on just so I could watch until drowsy.

It also gave me some abdominal cramps that I wasn’t a huge fan of.. I guess trial and error.

I have had two cups of this tea today, in hopes of a miracle, but I only have a headache.

She sent me there to get these mostly. I don’wp-1455851581905.jpegt really know what they are but she said that they will help to kick the cravings and they are homeopathic. Here is what I found on WebMd on this

Lobelia is a plant. The above ground parts are used to make medicine.

Lobelia is used for breathing problems including asthma, bronchitis, whooping cough, and shortness of breath (apnea) in newborn infants. Some people take lobelia as a sedative to help them relax. Other people use it to increase sweating.

Lobelia is applied to the skin for muscle pain, joint lumps associated with rheumatoid arthritis (rheumatic nodules), bruises, sprains, insect bites, poison ivy, and ringworm.

In manufacturing, lobelia is used in cough preparations and counterirritant products. Some stop-smoking products around the world include lobelia as an ingredient. But since 1993, manufacturers have not been allowed to include lobelia in stop-smokingproducts sold in the U.S. That’s when research found that lobelia doesn’t make stop-smoking products any more effective.

How does it work?

Lobelia contains chemicals that might thin mucus (phlegm) to make it easier to cough up (expectorate) and help breathing, especially in people with asthma. One chemical in lobelia has actions similar to nicotine.

How does one person take it to relax and another take it to increase sweating?

I am nervous about this but I may give it a try. I won’t break the seal though so if I don’t use it, maybe someone else can/will.

And since I have seen that cold-turkey kicked my ass once again, I have decided to actually do this for real and slow down to a stop. My official quit date is 30 days from today and I downloaded an app to help me reduce to 0.

 

 

2 thoughts on “I will Win this Battle

Leave a Reply

