Old’skool Traditions

I’ve never really dug into the significance of “jumping the broom” but, I have also seen it as a tradition that my family practices. I never really asked the question ‘why?’ to get an answer. I just expected that every familial wedding that I attended would end with the couple “jumping the broom”.

I searched around the internet to find out what this really does symbolize, and this is what I found.

The broom has both symbolic and spiritual importance in the African culture. The ritual itself was created by our ancestors during slavery. Because slaves could not legally marry, they created their own rituals to honor their unions. Some say broom jumping comes from an African tribal marriage ritual of placing sticks on the ground representing the couple’s new home.

I found this very interesting because I was looking through some old 1434144272352pictures and found this:

We were never ‘legally able to marry, so does this photo mean that I am married?

I don’t know why I would even think of this… Welcome to my mind where everything is analysed and scrutinized.

One last random musing: skinny jeans?

Leave a Reply

