Thanksgiving….

Have you ever just sat and thought about the conditions of the world around you? I don’t often find myself thinking much further passed what is going to be for dinner tonight which is either fortunate (living in blindness) or unfortunate (seemingly self-absorbed).

Thanksgiving is right around the corner and so I would like to realize and recognize some of the things that I am subconsciously grateful for yet take for granted.

 

  1. I am grateful, first and foremost for the opportunity that I have had to be a mother of three of the most wonderful boys I could imagine.
  2. I am grateful for the place that I live and the creature comforts that I have been fortunate enough to have and maintain. Although this may not be my forever home, it keeps me warm and is often filled with laughter and life lessons.
  3. I am extremely grateful for the fact that, although I may hear sirens, none of those are accompanied by explosions and rarely, as a late, gunfire.

I find it difficult to imagine the thoughts that go through the minds of those that live in a place where the current war-like conditions are at their doorstep. How do they manage to keep any semblance of sanity when there is so much uncertainty?

I married a serviceman once upon a time. I remember what it was like to try and run our lives while he fought in Iraq. It was difficult to say the least. So during this time of unrest in the world, I will hold in my heart and thoughts the families of those service members that are not able to be home for the Holidays. I will hold in my thoughts the people who are living on the front lines. I will hold in my heart the people making the decisions that may include collateral damage.

Stay true to you.

Leave a Reply

