Plea entered: Guilty

Yesterday I was completely overwhelmed (again) and a little nervous about being in court. (quick, catch up here) I did get the all I I was waiting for. I had just made the decision to pick up my son’s cake and head back to the courthouse to actually watch the plea entry and sentence when my phone rang. I answered it and it was the victim advocate. She lead with; “the case has officially been resolved” and my heart sank to my knees. I wondered if she heard it fall because she paused for a short time. She informed me that the judge did not accept his plea of guilty with suggested 12 month sentence with 3 months served and 9 month probation and batterers classes. The judge also did not go with my (really the prosecutors) suggestion of 18 month sentence serving 6 with 12 months probation and classes. The judge accepted the guilty plea and sentenced him to 15 months and he’ll serve 4 which means he will be out in about 2.5 weeks.

I am not ready for this. I am about 99% sure he will come here at some point and I hope he only does so to get his stuff off my porch and he brings an officer with him to do so. The restraining order says he needs to do things that way, but the restraining order is just a piece of paper that weighs as much as an SUV in my wallet.

Leave a Reply

