What Anxiety is Really Like

Source: What Anxiety is Really Like

I found this post  on reader about Anxiety and feel for her a lot.

I have very bad anxiety when it comes to speaking in front of a group of people, no matter the size. It’s not your normal, run of the mill fear of public speaking anxiety. It’s head spinning, chest collapsing, visually impaired, anxiety. Over time, when I realized that it was never going to go away, no matter how often I tried to conquer it by confronting it, I decided to just accept it. I would tell the crowd ahead of time that I have this anxiety and usually make a joke about passing out and all would laugh (deep down, I was very serious).

Sometimes my anxiety is based on my expectations of myself. I expect to be great at everything that I do, but I am never there for the judging of these things so I don’t know that I have done great immediately. With public speaking, however, you’re being graded right then and there and that freaks me out.

I also suffered from what I believe to be separation anxiety. I don’t know where that came from, I just know that; one day I was dropping my brother off at the Navy base and would be headed home the next morning, I had a horrible panic attack that evening.

Anxiety is no fun at all! Some anxiety is normal though, useful even. Chronic anxiety on the other hand, I wish that on no one and truly hope that the new medication that this blogger is taking helps her.

2 thoughts on “What Anxiety is Really Like

  1. Thank you so much for tagging me in this. HOPEFULLY this new medication helps. I’m very skeptical considering it is NOT a narcotic or an SSRI. We will see though!

    Good luck to you. I’m going to school to be a psychiatrist so I use myself as a tester lol.
    I hope you’re anxiety gets better!

    Like

Leave a Reply

