Materialistic By Nature

I can’t remember being materialistic really. I never really sought out labels or “name brand” things. I just get what I like based on the mood I am i when getting it. I have a 2008 Ford Taurus. I bought that car because I liked the way it looked and I liked the way I felt when I was in it. I never thought of having a BMW or Lexus. I don’t have a Michael Kors bag or anything else Michael Kors. I think I have Calvin Kline gloves but only because a few winters ago I was doing some merchandising for Burlington Coat Factory and saw them and liked them. Not for the name but for the style and the current mood. I don’t see the models on TV and say ohhh I love those boots and must have them.

I was asked today, “If you were a millionaire, what would your children live like?”

I didn’t know how to answer that question. I still do not. I would, of course, buy a house but that’s the only real difference I could think of. It would be a lot easier obviously but not different.

Currently my children do various chores around the house so they can earn money to purchase things, that wouldn’t change. They get the things, like video games and systems, when they want them now, but that’s because they are very well behaved children (mostly) and get great grades in school.

I wouldn’t change the way they are growing up. Learning the value of a dollar is essential for me.

Photo Credit https://dausonstimpsongagnon.wordpress.com/tag/materialism/

As for me… I don’t define myself by the things I have or do not have. I base my self worth on how I am as a person and how I treat others. I think that is why I never really got into the “label hoard” like most others, it just doesn’t scream….((((LOOK AT THIS)))) My actions and personality allow me to stand out from the crowd. Oh and then there is the smile 🙂

What are you wearing? What are your thoughts on material possessions?

Leave a Reply

