Apparently There IS a term for that

Have you ever heard of the term “free range kids”? I hadn’t. I just read the most interesting article over at Free Range Kids. I wasn’t even fascinated by the content of the article because I couldn’t get past the meaning behind it. I will have to read it again once m brain calms down. In the article, Rachel let’s her 9 year old ride home by himself on his bike and let her 2 year old play in the park all while she attended her other child at a baseball game. I don’t know that I would be able to leave my 2 year old in the park even if they’re within eyesight. I guess, I unknowingly became that parent that hovers a little and over protects. I have been trying to right that wrong and I am sure it’s going to take a lot of work. I mention to the children about walking to and/or from school, they seem shocked. I do leave them alone for up to thirty minutes with very strict and detailed rules and guidelines… I like to call that my “what to do if…”

I can remember being 8 years old and walking to the neighbors house alone, riding my bike alone and playing outside with my friends…..ALONE… I do not take all the credit for this, my ex, their father, played a role in this too. Not to mention, my family. I remember mentioning that I was going to go to the store (CVS right down the street) and was asked where the kids were, to which I replied, “they’ll be home” and a shit-storm happened and it lasted a week at least. Just this Monday, I had my mother watch them so that I could do a job, this job wouldn’t take long but it was far so I didn’t want to leave them home(accidents happen while driving), I called her and told her I was sending them up. She sounded shocked that I wasn’t walking them up and asked me if I wanted her to come down. I told her they needed to be able to reach the elevator and your door on their own.

1441570950220

I have a long road ahead of me. Many obstacles stand in the way but I plan to push them over! And now that I know there are a ton of other people reaching for the same dreams, I plan on picking their brains on the topic.

How are you with your children? At what age did you feel it was okay for them to be alone at home?

Leave a Reply

