The life of an Army Wife

I almost joined the Army!

Back in 2000 , when I was in high school, I signed up for the Army… The real live fire Army. I found a recruiter and went through the whole process. I scored high on the ASVAB test and was to receive a $5000 sign on bonus. I don’t know if that bonus was a standard one or if it was based on my future MOS. I chickened out. I hate that I did now, but I also know that everything happens for a reason. Either way, I chickened out and killed my high school career in the process. The only way I could get out of being sworn in was to NOT graduate high school, so this straight A student, left school.

I feel like that moment changed my life. It made me more fearful. Actually now that I think about it, that moment I allowed myself to fear EVERYTHING.

I just recently started watching Army Wives. Every episode that I watch, I imagine myself in the Army. What would have happened if I went through with my commitment? How would my life be different?

I even, at least once, thought about moving to South Carolina. I don’t know, I just think that the military style of life is so right up my alley. I want to be in the show Army Wives but in a real world capacity.

Funny thing is I married a Marine. People wonder if that life was different than Army Wives life. Yes it was, my life was nothing like you see on tv and honesty, the show is just that. A show! But it’s nice to fantasize isn’t?

Leave a Reply

