Salter Is Not The Way to Go

Haven’t been around in a couple days but that’s because I am furious with how things are going and I wanted to take time to sort through all of my feelings and emotions regarding this current situation.

I am sure you remember, I left my awesome paying 40 hour a week job with Mars because I wanted to become a massage therapist. I want to work for myself, and their night program was 90 weeks versus the 45 week day program. I planned on several things,

  1. Financial aid: I planned to take out a couple of loans to not only pay for the courses and books but I also expressed to the financial aid adviser that I wanted to use the excess to carry me through the 45 weeks while I worked part time and have three children. We had a “guest” speaker towards the end of “college survival skills” class from the financial aid lady and I went to talk to her privately about disbursements and things of that nature. She told me that Salter packages their courses to use ALL of the aid that you’ve been granted and all of the loans that you’ve applied for. Sounds like I’m pretty screwed but I will manage to find a way around that at some point.
  2. schedule: First off, I got thrown into Medical terminology for one of my first classes of this process. I didn’t mind that because I leave book work very well and was able to catch on quick to the concepts. This “Mod” they threw me into a “hands-on” class with four others that have been doing this for a while. They know terms and techniques that are very foreign to me and It really pisses me off that I wasn’t in a class that would teach me that stuff. Hands-on goes at the end of a program not in the beginning. How do I practice something I haven’t learned. Not only is it detrimental to my learning, but it is also going to hold back that FOUR ladies that have been there and done that!
  3. Transparency: NOT ONE TIME DURING THE REGISTRATION, EXPLANATION, OR GENERALLY SIGNING OF A CONTRACT TO PAY TENS OF THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS DID ANYONE AT ALL EVER, TELL ME THAT AT SOME POINT IN THIS PROGRAM, I WOULD HAVE TO TAKE MY CLOTHES OFF AND ALLOWING OTHERS TO TOUCH MY BODY. I AM NOT SURE THAT I FEEL VERY COMFORTABLE WITH THAT AT ALL. LET ALONE WEEK SIX!!!

I hate that I feel so out of place with this schooling. I will definitely want to see a complete breakdown of the course and fees as well as a complete course outline and prerequisites. I don’t like being set up to fail. I haven’t even gotten the uniform pants that I paid for. Tomorrow I wear jeans.

One thought on “Salter Is Not The Way to Go

  1. Pingback: The battle continues « 1crazytownlane

Leave a Reply

